Bags….How it all began

“Buttons and patches and the cold wind blowing, The days pass quickly when I am sewing.”

Last year, my hubby and I went to Virginia and on our trip we found a gem…. Bella’s Fabrics. The store was as inviting as a candy store. All the colors and designs would be inspirational to any seamstress who walked in.

On the back wall, they had a collection of already sewn Amy Butler bags. At this point I had never heard of Amy Butler before, but I liked what I saw. The group of ladies at the store were extremely friendly and eager to help me. So I asked “ Do you think a beginner like me could make one of these?” The ladies encouraged me and showed me all the supplies that I would need. I was sooo excited! The thought that I too could make one of these bags practically blew my mind.

So, I bought 1 of Amy Butler’s patterns, 2 of her fabrics and some interfacing to make the bag. (If you haven’t already you should take a look at her fabrics. The colors and designs are very nice…vivid). I was going to try my hand at making the bag I saw but I didn’t expect mine to look anywhere as professional as the one in the store did.

Well guess what…. I made the bag and it looks like the ones in the store (see the pictures). Amy Butler gives great detailed instructions. Even a beginner like me was able to put a bag together that looked like a pro had made it (well almost).

From that day forth I have been faithfully making bags. If you aren’t a seamstress, don’t be afraid, all you need is a good pattern and you are well on your way to making a fantastic bag!

And this is how I was introduced to Amy Butler and how my bag making frenzy began…..

Till next time
~Na

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (5)
    • angela
    • February 9th, 2011

    these are soooooo cute!good job!

      • SJB
      • February 9th, 2011

      I concur! These really ARE cute!

    • Oneka
    • February 22nd, 2011

    I love the bags! I good to see your still sewing you heart out, great work! Did you ever figure out the problem with the wool pant? If not check the pattern piece for the fly and the measurements for the crotch it could be that some how it was cut long and short… ttyl

    • Oneka
    • February 22nd, 2011

    I love the bags! It’s good to see your still sewing your heart out, great work! Did you ever figure out the problem with the wool pant? If not, check the pattern piece for the fly and the measurements for the crotch it could be that some how it was cut long and short… ttyl

    • Thanks!! You know what I tossed the pants to the side and kept it moving. lol I hate getting stuck on something that doesn’t make sense! But you did make a very practical suggestion. I think I’ll look into that. How are you and your sewing going?

      Na

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

