Stepping into fall with Silk!

“My soul is fed with needle and thread” – Author Unknown

The thunderstorm from the night before had taken even the weatherman by surprise. It left the city in chaos and most of the roadways were blocked (mainly due to flooding or fallen trees). It took me 2 hours to drive 5 blocks! I thought this might be a temporary problem so instead of heading back home I parked the car thinking I’d wait it out. You can imagine my delight when I realized that I had parked down the street from a fabric store! I wasn’t planning on buying anything, I wasn’t working on any sewing projects, and I didn’t even have the time to sew but still what better place to be stuck then at a fabric store? I wouldn’t buy any more unnecessary fabrics I would simply take a look around. There’s nothing wrong with a bit of eye candy…

Well… I bought lots of fabric! Gorgeous silk blends on sale… do you really think I would leave empty-handed? The first silk blend that led to my shopping spree was this one:

Look at her. Isn’t she a beaut?

FAST FORWARD…(5 months later)

I went back to being super busy and didn’t give the fabric or sewing a second thought. The fabric that I bought that day stayed in the bag.

My busy life started to slow down as my assignment was coming to an end and the thought of sewing started to creep back into my thoughts. I was all too familiar with this sensation. I had the sewing fever. I had to make something!

Lucky for me, a friend of mine was getting married and I would be flying out in 2 days. So I decided to make something quick and easy to wear to the wedding. I found this pattern and decided it would be the exact type of quick and easy dress that I could whip up for a wedding.

I like to focus on elaborate fabric and simple patterns. :) I finished the dress just in time for our flight and actually hemmed it when I landed. lol

I think that Thunderstorm was worth it back in the summer. What do you think?

Till Next Time
~Na

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (3)
    • angie
    • December 14th, 2011

    LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!

  1. Thanks Angie!! I’m getting so much better lol

    • SJB
    • December 24th, 2011

    Sexy!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

