Skirt Week!

“She who dies with the most fabric, wins”

I am declaring next week “Skirt Week”! Who knows, it might even turn into skirt month! Emmy thinks I’m crazy (I sure do!) and so does my hubby, but who cares? They just don’t understand. They only wish they could sew with my beautiful fabric!

So the goal is…..Ahem…..to only use fabric I have in my stash. I have been buying fabric at a ridiculous rate! So, I am only allowing myself to go to the fabric store to get notions. No fabric! (Wish me luck with that!) This is going to take a lot of restraint on my part… *cough*

My schedule is less hectic next week and so I thought this would be a great opportunity to indulge in what I love to do: Muahahahaha…. Yup….SEW! (that was a semi wicked laugh.. in case you missed it!).

I stumbled on a blog (Ten Thousand Hours) where Victoria challenges herself to become an expert seamstress. As a beginner I am inspired! If I sew for 10,000 hours maybe I too can become an expert! I will start with skirts. Someday maybe I’ll be able to draft my own patterns!!!! WOW! That would be great!

I have to focus the goal is to make at least 4 skirts in 7 days. On the days that I am super busy I will work on the easier skirts and on days that I’m free I will make something a little more complicated!

Here are a few of the contenders…

I love the different styles

I LOVE THIS!

This one will be a challenge!!!

Easy and fun

This may be tricky!

I also ordered the book Sew What! Skirts by Francesca DenHartog and I can’t wait to try it out!

Talk to me: Do you have any suggestions? Any cute skirt ideas or patterns you think I should try?
Feel free to join in and make 1 or 2 skirts yourself. Then we can share war stories! I am so excited!!! 🙂

Till we meet again
~Na

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (8)
    • Sendy Guerrier
    • August 6th, 2010

    these look so great! best of luck on your challenge. When i get back I may need to special order a Na original. who knows?!?!? anyway hope all is well and I hope to respond to your message soon, and by soon, I mean tonight:)

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog with you nice comments…I will be removing the trim!!! Great picks here! I have the Voque 8603 but have not made it yet! Skirt week is a great idea! Unfortunately, I’m currently commented on completing a “long term” project I’ve put off! (I’m bad!!) So I anxiously look forward to seeing you completing projects! Good Luck!

  2. …I meant “committed”! Sorry, trying to type to fast!

  3. Good luck with your skirt challenge. I also have Sew What Skirts, but I haven’t gotten around to making any of them. I think the New Look pattern we discussed on my blog is a great place to start.

    • TaNaasha
    • August 12th, 2010

    Hey Na! I finally checked out ur blog! Took me long enough right?! Well I don’t do any sewing but looks good. You keep up with your sewing and I’ll keep up with my music. And may God Bless all teh talents HE gives us! Amen.

Leave a Reply

