Interfacing, Embellishments and Enclosures????

“If I stitch fast enough, does it count as aerobic exercise?”

The other day, I decided to make 2 bags. I knew how sturdy I wanted them to be. I knew exactly which interfacing to use, but to make sure, I looked at the Kwik Sew (3749) instructions. They made no suggestions for interfacing whatsoever!!!

To make matters worse, like many other bag making patterns, the pattern included no enclosure suggestions. Now everyone knows that a good bag is made great with the right enclosures. How could they have missed that? Perhaps Kwik Sew didn’t want to confuse a beginner. Or better yet, wanted to give us experienced gals the freedom to…go crazy. (Notice I included myself in the category of being experienced? Hahaha I love a good joke!)

In making this bag I followed the instructions explicitly. The only change I made was adding the interfacing. I’m not sure I got it right but its better than not having one at all….

All in all, the pattern wasn’t bad. It’s not a complex bag. The bag is very big and roomy. I would recommend this bag to everyone because beginners can make it as is and feel very satisfied while an advanced seamstress can add enclosures and embellishments and the right interfacing to make it exactly as they wish.

I made the blue bag (on the left) for my sister to take to school. This bag is big enough for schoolbooks! The other bag (on the right) I made for my mother-in-law. Shhhhh it’s a surprise! She’s going on a cruise… wait till she sees what I made her!!!

But honestly dear readers, what are your suggestions when it comes to interfacing, embellishments and enclosures???? I mean…. I know what I’m doing and everything but… I want to hear your thoughts….LOL

Till we meet again,
Na

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

