The fly gave me the flu!

“Memories are stitched with love.”

Getting sick can seriously ruin your plans.

Right before I began my rapid descent into a bedridden abyss, I was working rather diligently with my “delightful wool blend” to create the perfect slacks. Then I caught the dreadful flu! It’s been a rocky ride to say the least. At times, I could barely see the light at the end of the tunnel. But very slowly I’m starting to become more lucid.

Although I am in no condition to sew I can certainly tell you all about my adventures.
In fact this will no doubt be the best explanation that I have ever given about any of my projects because, after all, I have nothing better to do then lay here and type.

Simplicity 2562

…is a pattern designed to give you a perfect fit and that is exactly what I was looking for. As I mentioned in my last post, this pattern had been sitting in my stash for some time and this beautiful fabric inspired me to jump in and try it. I have never really made structured slacks before and was rather excited to give this project a go. I am short and I have a curvy rear, shopping for pants or jeans can be a nightmare!

I took a couple of inches off the length as I was cutting the pattern because I really want that “amazing fit” that this pattern promises. Other than that I made no significant alterations to the pattern itself.

I was doing pretty well with the instructions. The pictures were very helpful for those times when I would get confused as to what the instruction actually meant. I had to fiddle a little with the Front yoke, Front yoke and pocket and the Pocket facing which could get confusing, but I was doing pretty well. I was impressed with the way the pockets were turning out.

This may not be a big deal to some but to me this was a real morale boost. Then I got to the fly. I don’t know what I did wrong but I do know it shouldn’t look like this…

What did I do wrong? I took it out and put it back in and still it looks like this….

I tried every thing that I could possibly think of. In fact I went and got a pair of store bought slacks to compare and still I was lost! I spent hours agonizing over this one thing. And it was exactly at this point that I got sick.

I blame the fly for giving me the flu… the mind-boggling thing weakened my immune system…

~Till Next time
Na

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

